top of page

WPS: Final Report

My goal for my Wix site was to make it as accessible and functional as possible. Wix is a new form of digital media for me and this was my first time navigating the site. I had visited other Wix pages before, but had never built one for myself. Having a personalized website is an interesting and informative experience, because I feel responsible for every word and image that I choose to put on my page. With the permanence of the Internet, everything that I put on my site will be saved indefinitely. This is the one fear that I had going in to creating this page. Who knows, it is possible that a future employer will search my name and disagree with my opinions on Her or Fruitvale Station. I was initially cautious of my posts, but as I grew more comfortable with the forum, I showed more of my personality and opinions.

My website gave me a (false) sense of self-importance. With a website, I had a different voice than with my other forms of social media. Even though no one was asking for my opinions, it is nice to have an outlet for them. While a class website is for academic purposes, it has given me freedom to express myself. I felt more confident to post my opinions here than on my Instagram or Facebook. Of course, this is because I don't think anyone is reading this forum, as opposed to those other sites where people can view my content. After each screening, I had a medium on which to post my thoughts and opinions. I channeled my emotional reactions here, instead of crying to my roommates about the screenings.

I had full agency over every aspect of my site. I had full control over the aesthetics and the content. Although I created this for our Digital Media & Culture course, the content was interesting and I never felt like it was a duty to post. Instead, it felt like an open forum where I could express myself through visuals and content. I chose each of the images on my page very carefully. I wanted to maintain a general theme throughout the site. The photos that I chose for my blog posts are all animated and colorful. I wanted my website to embody the characters of the films we watched and the interesting nature of our discussions.

I am proud of the content on my website. I am also impressed with my ability to navigate it, incorporate HTML code, and converge different forms of media. Importing GIFs and videos onto a website is a skill I never thought I would acquire. The interactive nature of Wix is my favorite of its features. The ability to incorporate different sources of media, such as videos and music, into blog posts, combines to create an interactive, technologically complex post.

bottom of page